Journey to Developing a Titanium Video App

Everything is going mobile these days. The demand for mobile websites and smart phone apps is outpacing even the demand for desktop websites these days. And while I base this mostly on anecdotal evidence, I knew that it was time to jump on the bandwagon. And what better way to do that than by writing apps?

My technology of choice is Appcelerator Titanium. Titanium allows you to build a mobile app once, in JavaScript, and it can run on multiple platforms (Android, iPhone, iPad, and Blackberry). Although you do have to tweak the code to handle some differences between the platforms, writing and maintaining one code baseline is still so much easier than writing the same app in several languages. Plus, being a web developer, I was already using JavaScript, so it was nice to be able to leverage what I knew, versus learning a new super-niche language (I’m looking at you, Objective-C!).

After completing the online Titanium course and building the infamous TiBountyHunter app, I decided that my first “independent” app will be something that I could find useful. Being a fisherman, er woman, er angler, I sometimes found knot tying books frustrating.  You get a page about the Rapala Knot, for example, and all you get is a straight line for the “before” picture and the completed knot for the “after” picture. And it’s like, whoa, what happened in between?

So, I decided to build a fishing knot video app in Titanium. Videos are great because you can pause or rewind, and re-watch any part of the instruction until you get it right. The app can run on Android and iPhone. You can download it onto your Android device from this link, to check it out. I’ll make the iPhone executable available at a later time. In the meantime, you can enjoy the videos of the app, running on both the Android and iPhone emulators here. (There is no sound in the YouTube videos, but the videos in the app itself do have sound.)

Finally, I gotta give a shout-out to my peeps! A big thanks to Toni Noble for the video editing and production, and to my husband Eric for being the hand model. That is my voice in the narration, in case you’re wondering; my husband’s voice is not that high-pitched. 🙂

One thought on “Journey to Developing a Titanium Video App

  1. Pingback: Fishing Knot Tyer App Now In Android Market | Sunfish Empire LLC: Mobile Solution Provider

Comments are closed.