What About PhoneGap?

I hear this question all the time, whenever I do a presentation about Titanium at my local area user groups. What about PhoneGap? How does that compare to Titanium? I call it the “P-Word”. It’s like someone yelling “Freebird” at me at every presentation. 😉 What’s the reason that I use Titanium? It is the best cross platform solution for building native mobile apps, period. It’s not a native wrapper around a web app, which is what PhoneGap does. Titanium is a much easier way to build mobile apps for multiple platforms, that looks and behaves like their respective native platforms, because at the end of the day, what you’re getting is native code! Rather than have me enumerate the differences between Titanium and PhoneGap, I’m happy to say that someone else has already done that for me. Check out this excellent blog by Kevin Whinnery that explains everything that I feel about PhoneGap and Titanium and more.

